Johanna & The Dusty Floor Sweep In.

Tonight on Echoes (01/06/2012) I’ll be interviewing an exciting new singer-songwriter, Johanna Cranitch who records as Johanna & the Dusty Floor.  When I heard her new album,  Northern Lights, I was immediately enticed by this Australian born singer, who first reminded me of Kate Bush.  She even covers Bush’s “Cloudbusting.”  But the more I listen, the less I hear Bush and the more I hear an artist with a unique and personal voice, making music full of surprising melodic turns, with idiosyncratic instrumentation that includes zithers, xylophones and Omnichords, and deeply effecting voice.  Check out a couple of her videos.

This is a charming, kind of unplugged version of “Heavy Heart.”

Here’s a produced video of “Witch Shoes.”

And you might as well hear her understated take on Kate Bush’s Cloudbusting.”

John Diliberto ((( echoes )))

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Johanna & The Dusty Floor Sweep In.”

  1. Kerry Says:

    Great echos fan, but still discovering artists. really dig joanna. amazing talent. As amateur song writer, makes my laugh when artists make music after breakups. Usually gets good stuff. . Therapy for me. Not quite worth the pain, but at least you can get something. I try to tell anyone that got dumped to get creative and make stuff. Therapy and maybe a good song, poem, painting..

Leave a Reply

